Gravity

I saw the movie Gravity on my birthday and I really liked it even though it totally freaked me out.  Being an English teacher, I’m cursed with never actually enjoying a movie, a book, or a song without looking for the hidden message behind the story.  Gravity was no different.  In the midst of my heart palpitations, I was drawn to the juxtaposition of beauty and danger that the movie kept referencing over and over.

The Earth from space is glorious.  Breathtaking, even.  Probably one of the most beautiful things you’ve ever seen (if you ever get to see it from up there).  But, space is also incredibly dangerous.  People are not meant to survive there.  There is no oxygen, no air pressure, no gravity.  Without the protection of a space suit, you would be toast.  In the movie, these dangerous, life-threatening situations kept occurring, but always in the background was all of this beauty.  The sun rising, the mountain formations, the blue of the ocean.  Truly breathtaking stuff.

It made me think about life here.  In our lives, terrible things happen.  Sometimes we have to dig deep and figure out a way to survive.  A way to go on in a productive manner and put our best self forward.  At times, you can’t even pinpoint the terrible thing that’s going on in your life; it might just be the daily tasks of life itself that you are having to survive.  Life is hard and there are moments you feel like you are drifting through space with nothing to grasp hold of.

But, then I think about how beautiful our backdrop is.  Yes, there are moments of struggle and loss, but if we can step back and look at the big picture, we can see how God really is in control.  How He has created the entire universe and everything in it.  How our lives are just a tiny speck in His plan to bring life and glory to Himself.  It’s hard to see it when you’re drifting, though, you know?

Gravity provided a helpful visual.  Yes, your struggles are real and they are intense and in no way do you need to ignore them and just say, “Well, everything will be okay.  I’ll pretend this isn’t happening and let God work it all out.”  No, I think He wants us to face our struggles and deal with them so that we can grow and mature as believers, but He also wants us to remember what’s in the background.  He has created a beautiful life for us with blessings abundant and needs provided for.  The immediate struggle is temporary in the big picture of life.

The Lord loves to redeem us.  That’s why he gave us Jesus Christ, but he loves to redeem us over and over by gently reminding us of what He has done.  And, boy, do I need that redemption on a daily basis.  It’s so easy for me to focus in on myself and my world and forget about the reason I’m here.  Jesus Christ is my gravity.  My gentle pull that reminds me of who I belong to and who I really am.  He is what keeps me grounded.

Colossians 1:15-20

15 “The Son is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn over all creation. 16 For in him all things were created: things in heaven and on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or powers or rulers or authorities; all things have been created through him and for him. 17 He is before all things, and in him all things hold together. 18 And he is the head of the body, the church; he is the beginning and the firstborn from among the dead, so that in everything he might have the supremacy. 19 For God was pleased to have all his fullness dwell in him, 20 and through him to reconcile to himself all things, whether things on earth or things in heaven, by making peace through his blood, shed on the cross.”

Lord, let this truth seep into my soul, so that it’s not just words on a paper or an idea in my head.  But, something that I live out on a daily basis.  Remind me of my background:  all of the ways you have provided for me, love me, and redeem me.

One thought on “Gravity

Leave a Reply

