Home » Teaching » I Survived!

I Survived!

These are the exact words I said as I left Dunbar on Friday afternoon.  It has been the LONGEST week ever, but I think we’re off to a great year.

This week, I had my kids write an essay about themselves.  It’s an easy way for me to get to know them, but it also lets me assess their writing.  And, I’ve gotta tell ya, they are all over the place for me this year.  I have some that need help getting what’s in their head to come out on paper and I have others that write better than I do!  I’m going to have to get really creative with my lesson plans to be sure.

I already have some kids that really stand out (some for good reasons and some for not so good reasons), but this year, I don’t want to lose focus on those middle kids.  As a kid, I was one of those middle kids.  Smart, but not a genius.  Quiet and never got in trouble.  Always did my homework and never caused any problems for anybody, but none of my teachers ever seemed to really see me because they were busy doting on the really smart, good kids or were disciplining the bad ones.  So, one of my (many) goals this year is to not lose sight of the middle guys.  I’ll let you know how it goes.

One week down!

Leave a Reply

