Home » Teaching » Classroom Tour

Classroom Tour

The first day of school was today.  Even after 6 years, I still get the jitters on the first day.  It’s just unsettling when you don’t know you’re kids and you’re about to spend 9 months with them.  So intimidating.

I’m happy to report that the first day went well.  My kids seem pretty solid and well behaved.  I give them until Wednesday to start showing their true colors.  Ha!

Here’s a little tour of my classroom this year.  I should do a before and after when the year is up to show you what 8th graders can do to a classroom.  It’s pretty amazing.

A little chalkboard on the door for notes and directions.

Image

Classic book covers to decorate the closet door.

Image

A little student station.

Image

A white board and a word wall.  Essentials in the English classroom.

Image

I got crafty and covered the shades with fabric this year.  They look SO much better, but don’t roll them down because you’ll see the old shade…

Image

I love this bookcase!

Image

My little work station.

Image

Not too shabby!  I love this time in the school year when life is full of possibilities and excitement.  I’m trying really hard to hold onto this feeling for as long as I can.

One thought on “Classroom Tour

Leave a Reply

