Home » Teaching » First Day Back

First Day Back

Well, today I had to go back to work.  No students, yet, so that makes it a tiny bit better, but not much.  Usually when the summer is winding down, I get antsy and ready to go back to school.  I need the routine.  But, this time, it totally snuck up on me.  I think with Bennett, a routine is already in place every day, so structure was definitely not absent in my day to day.  Needless to say, I have not prepared a single thing.  I’m going in totally blind this time around.  Usually I’ll have thought about the first week at least.  Not this time.  I’m just hoping to have my classroom ready and what I’m doing on the first day finished by Friday.  Sheesh.

I’m feeling pretty nonchalant about the school year which I can’t decide if it’s a good thing or a bad thing.  Does it mean I’ve been teaching long enough that I’ve finally found my stride?  Or does it mean that I’m not as passionate and excited about the school year?  I don’t know, yet, but I’m really hoping it’s not the latter.  I’ve got a LONG way to go before retirement.

I’m really praying this week about the school year that the Lord will continually remind me that this has nothing to do with me and everything to do with bringing Him glory.  As hard as that is to do on a daily basis with middle school kids that drive you insane, it’s something that I really want to keep on the forefront of my mind.  I want to be able to give my students grace and love, but the only way that can ever happen is if I stay close to the Lord.  It gets really easy to start depending on yourself in this profession, though.  I mean, it’s day one and I’ve already said about 17 curse words.  Lord help me.

I was really excited to see my co-workers, though.  I work with some really amazing people.  People that love to teach and love students.  Maybe some of their passion and enthusiasm will rub off on me a bit this week.  Here’s to 2013-2014!

Leave a Reply

