Home » Around the House » Holding on to Summer

Holding on to Summer

I have 3 weeks until I go back to school.  4 weeks until the kids join in.  Ahhhhhhhhh!  I can’t believe summer has gone by so quickly.  I say that every summer, though.  And, 3 weeks is still a good, long while.  I don’t want to start counting down the days until summer is over, thus missing out on the rest of my summer.  I want to live in the present as much as possible;  enjoying these nice, long days with Bennett and Michael playing in the yard, swimming at the pool, and traveling around at our leisure.

With that in mind, I’ve constructed a few summery crafts.  I am NOT a super crafty person, but I do like to make little things from time to time to cheer up the house or change the decor a bit without spending a thousand dollars.  A little summer wreath and some pinwheels seemed to fit the bill–easy and cheap.  I found a tutorial on one of my favorite blogs:  Jones Design Company.  If you don’t follow it, you should.  This woman is a freakin’ genius at decorating and styling her home.  Plus, she’s a mom of 4 and a believer.  I really enjoy her perspective on things.

Here are my little crafty creations to help me hold on to summer for a little longer with a link to the tutorial, so you can make your own!

Image

The tutorial is just for the paper medallions.  I already had the wreath, but I got it at Hobby Lobby and just hot glued the medallions on the side.  By the way, if you don’t have it already, get the Hobby Lobby app on your phone.  They always have a 40% off coupon on there.

Image

Her tutorial is slightly different in that she used pencils to hold her pinwheels up and I used skewers.  Pencils would’ve worked better since hers probably spin whereas mine do not, but I didn’t have any pencils on hand and I didn’t want to buy any just for this project.  Plus, pencils remind me that school is about to start and I’m trying to think opposite of that, remember?

One thought on “Holding on to Summer

Leave a Reply

